F. Mendelssohn: String Symphony No. 4 in C minor



Felix Mendelssohn (1809-1847)

String Symphony No. 4 in C minor (1821)

00:00 – Grave – Allegro
03:16 – Andante
06:00 – Allegro vivace

Performed by the Northern Chamber Orchestra under the direction of Nicholas Ward.

“Mendelssohn wrote his twelve String Symphonies between 1821 and 1823. The first seven were all composed in 1821, with the eighth a year later, dated 27th November 1822, and the ninth, tenth, eleventh, and twelfth, completed in March, May, July and September 1823 respectively. A thirteenth symphony, started in December that year, was replaced by a fully orchestrated work, to become his Symphony No. 1 in C major, Op. 11. The string symphonies were written when Mendelssohn was a pupil of Zelter and reflect the inclinations of the teacher and Mendelssohn’s own clear debt to earlier classical models, with an increasing interest in the contrapuntal practices of Bach and Handel. … String Symphony No. 4 in C minor starts with a slow introduction, followed by a contrapuntal Allegro. There is a more lyrical major key Andante, breaking off to become a final Allegro vivace, in which again full use is made of counterpoint.” – Keith Anderson

Painting: A Child Learning to Read, Paul Delaroche